Brevard County Address Assignment Office

(Scroll down for Frequently Asked Questions - FAQs)

Telephone (321) 637-2003Fax (321) 637-2011

Civil Procedure and Statutory Time Frames for the Foreclosure Procedure:

Pursuant to Section 45.031(1)(a), Florida Statutes, within the Final Judgment, the court shall direct the clerk to sell the property within 20 – 35 days of the final judgment date. A sale may be held more than 35 days from the judgment date with consent from the plaintiff/plaintiff’s attorney. These properties are sold on a buyer beware basis. The Clerk does not guarantee a clear title. Legal advice should be obtained from an attorney licensed to practice law in the State of Florida.

Pursuant to Section 45.031(2), Florida Statutes, the Notice of Sale shall be published once a week for two consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where the sale is to be held. The second publication must be at least five days prior to the sale date.

Pursuant to Section 45.031(4), Florida Statutes, Certificates of Sale must be issued promptly. The Brevard County Clerk’s Office procedures require that these Certificates be issued within one day of the sale date.

Pursuant to Section 45.031(8), Florida Statutes, the amount of the bid is presumed to be sufficient consideration for the sale. Objections to the bid amount must be filed within 10 days of the filing date of the Certificate of Sale.

Pursuant to Section 45.031(5), Florida Statutes, the clerk must allow a period of 10 days from the Certificate of Sale’s filing date for any objections to the foreclosure sale to be filed.  If there is no objection filed within the specified statutory timeframe, the clerk may issue the Certificate of Title. If there is an objection to the sale filed, the clerk must receive judicial direction to issue the Certificate of Title. Once the Certificate of Title has been filed, the sale is confirmed.  The Certificate of Title is recorded in the Public Records.

Pursuant to Section 45.031(7), Florida Statutes, Certificates of Disbursement are issued and the funds disbursed upon filing of the Certificate of Title.

Pursuant to Section 45.032(3)(c), Florida Statutes, if no claim for surplus is filed within 60 days of issuance of the Certificate of Disbursements, the Clerk must appoint a surplus trustee from a list of State authorized trustees. The surplus trustee will attempt to locate the owner of record for one year, after which time the trustee’s appointment expires. Thirty days after the expiration of a surplus trustee appointment, surplus funds are held and disbursed to the Chief Financial Officer pursuant to chapters 43 and 717 of the Florida Statutes.

Persons interested in purchasing property in foreclosure are encouraged to thoroughly review the case file and Official Records to determine whether outstanding liens or encumbrances exist against the property. The court files do not contain property addresses and, in most circumstances, reflect only the legal description of the property. Please review our Frequently Asked Questions for details regarding obtaining case specific information.

THE CLERK MAKES NO EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES OR REPRESENTATION ABOUT THE CONDITION, MARKETABILITY, EXISTING OR POTENTIAL USES, TITLE, OUTSTANDING LIENS, MORTGAGES OR OTHER ENCUMBRANCES, ZONING REGULATIONS OR LAWS THAT MAY AFFECT CURRENT OR FUTURE USES OF THE PROPERTY, OR THE EXISTENCE OF ANY CONDITIONS REGARDING ANY PROPERTY AND STRUCTURES OR FIXTURES THEREON OFFERED FOR SALE BY THE CLERK.

All properties are sold “AS IS” and bidders are responsible for conducting their own research as to the condition of the property and the state of the title of the property being sold. YOU MUST DO YOUR OWNRESEARCH FOR EACH PROPERTY or consult with someone who can advise you legally.  The clerk’s office is not authorized to give legal advice. If you require legal advice, you should obtain it from an attorney or some other source. The clerk’s office assumes no responsibility for any encumbrances on any property offered for sale.  The Clerk disclaims any warranty of merchantability or fitness for a particular purpose.
During the auction, all attendees must conduct themselves in a professional manner. Any disruptive behavior, such as talking aloud while the auction is being conducted or arguing with another bidder or the clerks, may result in participation disqualification and/or ejection from that day’s auction. An initial warning will be issued by the clerk conducting the sale. If the disruptive behavior continues, the participant may be disqualified from bidding and removed from the auction site.
Please review our Frequently Asked Questions. Any additional questions regarding foreclosures may be directed to the Foreclosure Clerks at (321) 637-2003.

Civil Traffic Infractions
A civil traffic infraction is a non-criminal violation which usually can be disposed of by payment of a civil penalty or election to attend a defensive driving course. A court appearance is not required, except in cases where the violation involves an accident with serious bodily injury, a fatality or certain other violations.

  • Payment must be made within 30 days of the date the ticket was issued.
  • A delinquency fee will be added and your driver license suspended if a citation is not paid within 30 days.
  • Unpaid citations will be turned over to a collection agency after 120 days and additional fees will be assessed.
  • Payment can be made by mail, over the Internet, via Western Union, at any Amscot location, or in person at one of our offices in Titusville, Merritt Island, Melbourne, Viera or Palm Bay.
  • The Clerk's Office will accept partial payments; however, there is a $5.00 fee per payment associated with this option.
  • Payment can be made by mail, over the Internet, via Western Union, at any Amscot location, or in person at one of our offices in Titusville, Merritt Island, Melbourne, Viera or Palm Bay.
  • Payment may be made by cash, check, cashier's check, certified check, money order, or credit card.  Please do not send cash through the mail.
  • We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover.  When paying by credit card, a convenience fee will be assessed based upon the amount you are paying.  (The Clerk’s Office does not receive any part of this fee.)
  • PLEA OF NO CONTEST & REQUEST FOR WITHHOLD OF ADJUDICATION

Driver Improvement School
The option of attending school does not apply to all traffic infractions.  If you hold a CDL license, you are not eligible to elect driving school. If you are charged with exceeding the speed limit by 30 mph or more, you are not eligible to elect driving school--a mandatory court appearance is required. 

  • Successful completion of driver improvement school will keep violation points from being entered on a driver record.
  • You must complete school and provide proof of completion to the Clerk’s Office within 90 days of the violation date.
  • The school enrollment fee is charged in addition to the assessment for the infraction.
  • There are independent traffic schools serving this area which are listed in the telephone book yellow pages under "Driving Instruction" and "Traffic Schools".  Others are listed in the Helpful Links section to the left.

School Requirements: 

  • You do not have a commercial driver's license.
  • You are not driving a commercial vehicle.
  • You cannot elect school more than once in 12 months.
  • You can only elect school 5 times in your lifetime.

You have chosen to elect school.  You have 60 days from election date to attend traffic school and submit your school completion.  It is your responsibility to provide your completion to the Clerk's Office.  If your completion is not received timely, we will be unable to accept it, a change of election fee will be due, and your license may be suspended.

Mail School Completion to:

P.O. Box 219Titusville, FL  32781-0219Fax Number:  (321) 264-7702

Local Parking Tickets
Local parking violations are ones which are not issued on a Uniform Traffic Citation.

  • Parking tickets must be paid within 10 days from the date the ticket was issued.
  • Parking citations that remain unpaid for more than 90 days will be turned over to a collection agency and additional fees will be assessed.

Criminal Traffic Offenses
A Criminal Traffic Offense is a violation that may subject a defendant, upon conviction, to incarceration. Criminal offenses require a court appearance and can carry penalties including fines/costs, probation, and/or incarceration.

Some examples of Criminal Traffic offenses are driving under the influence, driving while license suspended/revoked, or reckless driving. Persons charged with a criminal offense will find a court date indicated at the bottom of their citation or the date can be found on their first appearance paperwork they received from the jail upon release.

0 thoughts on “Brevard County Address Assignment Office

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *